The 6th Summer School on Actinide Science and Applications


Every two years the JRC-ITU organises Summer Schools on Actinide Science at its laboratories in Karlsruhe. Young researchers from all over the world have participated in lectures, laboratory visits and demonstrations. The 6th Summer School will be held from 14th to 17th June 2011. This school will be co-sponsored by the ACTINET I3


The Summer School on Actinide Science and Applications is suitable for students and young researchers who have an interest in basic actinide chemistry, physics and material science. The lectures, featuring experts from international organisations and JRC-ITU, will address the following topics:


Basic Actinide Science

The Nuclear Fuel Cycle

Nuclear Safeguards, Security and Forensics


The school will give participants a glance at the intriguing science of the 5f elements and their application in modern society. The lectures will be given during the morning sessions, the afternoons will be devoted to visits of the laboratories of JRC-ITU (controlled area) and the neighbouring German research centre KIT. Three laboratory demonstrations will be offered to participants.


 Preliminary programme



Th. Fanghänel (JRC-ITU Director)


Basic Actinide Science


Physics of the actinides

R. Caciuffo (JRC-ITU)

Thermodynamic aspects of actinides

R. Konings (JRC-ITU)

Theoretical aspects of chemical and electronic properties of actinides

V. Vallet (Univ. Lille)

Chemistry of plutonium and actinides

H. Nitsche (Univ. Berkeley)

Chemistry and physics of (super-) heavy elements

M. Schädel (GSI)

Radiation damage in nuclear materials

R. Grimes (Imperial College)

Biological effects of ionising radiation

R. Michel (Univ. Hannover)

The Nuclear Fuel Cycle

Nuclear fuels, incl. Gen. IV

J. Somers (JRC-ITU)

Irradiated materials

V. Rondinella (JRC-ITU)

Nuclear waste disposal

T. Stumpf (KIT-INE)

Recycling of spent fuels

D. Warin (CEA)

Spectroscopic characterisation of actinides

P. Panak (Univ. Heidelberg)


R. Malmbeck (JRC-ITU)

Nuclear Safeguards, Security and Forensics

Nuclear forensics

K. Mayer (JRC-ITU)

Nuclear safeguards

D. Donohue (IAEA)

Nuclear security measurement techniques

P . Peerani (JRC-ITU)





Photoemission spectroscopy for actinide characterisation (Actinide Research)

Transport properties under extreme conditions
(Actinide Research)

Thermal diffusivity of nuclear fuels
(Materials Research)

Electron microscopy of nuclear materials
(Materials Research)

Fabrication of Advanced Nuclear Fuels
(Nuclear Fuels)

 Spent fuel corrosion
 (Hot Cells)

Post irradiation examination
(Hot Cells)

Safeguards and forensic analysis
(Nuclear safeguards and Forensics)

INE-Beamline for Actinide Research at ANKA

Prototype vitrification test facility

Laser spectroscopy




Cost and Accommodation


The fee, including lunches (4 days), coffee breaks, the School banquet, and transportation, will be 75 € (to be paid at JRC-ITU). Pre-booked rooms are directly available at Hotel Aviva ( in Karlsruhe (10 km from the Institute) easily reached by public transport. Accommodation will be 65 € for a single room or 85 € for a double room (per room, per night) including breakfast.


Application and registration


Only a limited number of applications can be accepted. Please fill in the online  application form to help the selection committee to evaluate your candidature. Deadline 31 March 2011. A limited budget provided by ACTINET I3 exists to support students and young researchers, both for accommodation and transportation. Those interested should apply early and indicate their needs. Applicants already receiving financial support from their university or otherwise and applying for funding need to disclose the amount of financial support received.


Please register HERE


Deadline 31 March 2011.

Scientific Committee:

Thomas Fanghänel (JRC-ITU)

Franck Wastin (JRC-ITU) 

Melissa A. Denecke (KIT-INE)

Jean Galy (JRC-ITU)       

Petra Panak (Univ. Heidelberg)   



Rudy Konings (JRC-ITU)

Vincenzo Rondinella (JRC-ITU)

Klaus Mayer (JRC-ITU)

Paul Carbol (JRC-ITU)

Eric Colineau (JRC-ITU)


Organising Committee:

Nicole Erdmann (JRC-ITU)

Anja Thoma-Otremba (JRC-ITU)

Krisztina Varga (JRC-ITU)

Gabriele Tamborini (JRC-ITU)